Skip to main content
  • Cavallo Point – the Lodge at the Golden Gate
  • San Francisco skyline at night
  • Historic Lodging
  • Contemporary Lodging
  • San Francisco Bay
"The cool grey city of love." — George Sterling

Golden Gate National Park

The Golden Gate National Park


One of the largest and most popular urban national parks in the world, the Golden Gate National Parks were established in 1972, as part of efforts to make national parks more accessible to city dwellers and bring "parks to the people." The parks' 75,000+ acres extend north from Fort Baker at the Golden Gate Bridge to Tomales Bay in Marin County and south to San Mateo County.

The parks contain many historical and cultural sites – among them, Alcatraz, Marin Headlands, Fort Mason, Muir Woods National Monument, Fort Point National Historic Site, and the Presidio of San Francisco. With 19 unique ecosystems in seven distinct watersheds, the parks preserve a wealth of natural treasures.

At the center sits Fort Baker, gateway to miles of coastal and inland trails and diverse recreational and cultural opportunities. Visitors to Fort Baker and Cavallo Point have access to neighboring organizations housed in the parks, including:

Golden Gate National Park

National Park Service

The National Park Service cares for national parks, a network of nearly 400 natural, cultural and recreational sites across the nation. The treasures in this system have been set aside by the American people to preserve, protect and share the legacies of this land. They include the Grand Canyon, the Statue of Liberty, Gettysburg and hundreds of lesser-known destinations.

The National Park Service preserves the natural and cultural resources and values of the national park system for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of this and future generations. The Park Service cooperates with partners to extend the benefits of natural and cultural resource conservation and outdoor recreation throughout this country and the world.